Skip to content

Gingerbread Ice-Cream Sandwiches

July 14, 2009

PICT0059

This recipe came about for two reasons. The first is that I have been living with my in-laws who eat a fairly SAD (standard American diet) and LOVE their ice-cream sandwiches. So I have been sitting around watching them eat their delicious looking store-bought ice-cream sandwiches. Not only do they look delectable because it is soooo HOT out, but I am also pregnant on top of it! It is just a losing battle for me!

The second reason these came about was that I caught my husband sneaking licks of molasses this morning, so I thought it was time for a good molasses cookie, and voila! these were born!

Ingredients:

  • 1 c. roasted nut butter ( I used almond)
  • 1/2 c. rapadura, sucanat, or other dry sweetener
  • scant 1/4 c. molasses
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tsp. vanilla
  • 1 tbs. ground ginger (I used fresh, use less if you are using powdered)
  • 1 tsp. ground cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp. ground cloves
  • 1/4 tsp. ground nutmeg
  • 1/2 pint vanilla ice-cream (use Coconut Bliss, home-made, or Haagan Daas!)

Directions:

  1. Mix all ingredients together, except ice-cream.
  2. Chill in refrigerator for 1/2 hour.
  3. Form into balls and place on greased cookie sheet.
  4. Bake for 12 mins. at 350 degrees.
  5. Cool and freeze for 10 minutes, meanwhile take ice-cream out of the freezer and let soften for the same time.
  6. Layer ice-cream between two cookies, smoosh together and re-freeze! YUM!!
2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 24, 2009 10:56 pm

    Greetings from a fellow NTP! These look and sound absolutely irresistible — WOW! I’m passing this post on to my wife now for immediate consideration;-)
    Is there any reason xylitol could not be used as the sweetener?

    All the best,
    Charles

    • fluffywanderings permalink*
      July 25, 2009 8:36 am

      I don’t see why not! 🙂

Leave a Reply

