Skip to content

How to Freeze Home-Made Broths

July 16, 2009

This is my contribution to the Nourishing Gourmet’s Pennywise Platter Thursdays!pennywiseplatter2

Reusing chicken carcasses or leftover bones is a wonderfully frugal way to save money and make delicious nourishing broths for your family. But how does one store all that broth?

I used to have a really hard time storing broth in my freezer because I would never know if I would come back to a freezer full of broken glass jars! So here is a little tip I came up with:

I found silicon muffin tins at Goodwill and have been using them to freeze my broths! They are unbreakable and the broth ends up in perfect little serving sizes!

Procedure:

  1. Pour the broth into your silicon muffin tin (be sure to place the muffin tin on a cookie sheet so all the broth doesn’t spill out when you lift the tin).
  2. Put in freezer over night.PICT0001
  3. Pop out the perfect little “broth muffins” and store in an airtight gallon sized container (I used a zip-lock bag here). PICT0002PICT0003
  4. Presto! No broken jars and the perfect amount of nourishing broth to add to your dishes!
4 Comments leave one →
  1. July 16, 2009 12:52 pm

    What a great idea!

  2. Jen permalink
    July 16, 2009 5:27 pm

    love it – thanks!

  3. July 16, 2009 8:41 pm

    This is how I freeze the broth too. Icecubes take a really long time and the silicon muffin molds make it a breeze to pop out the broths

Trackbacks

  1. Pennywise Platter Thursday 7/16

Leave a comment